The short version

A small dog can ride in the cabin on the major US airlines, in a carrier under the seat, and the airline charges a one-way fee. That fee is $150 on American, Delta, and United, $125 on Southwest within the US mainland ($35 between the Hawaiian islands), $100 on Alaska and Hawaiian ($35 for travel wholly within Hawaii), and $149 on Frontier. JetBlue and Spirit allow a small cabin dog, but the pages we could read do not state the dollar fee.

Policies change. The fee, the carrier size, and which routes take a dog can move after this page was checked. Confirm the pet on the reservation with the airline before you pay for the ticket.

Prefer the train? Amtrak’s pet rules, the seven-hour cap, and Brightline’s fee.

Cabin pet fees compared

Every fee below is copied from that airline’s own page on . “Not stated” means the page we read does not say. We do not fill a blank from memory or from a travel blog.

FeeNot stated
In-cabin dog fees on 9 US airlines: whether a small dog may ride in the cabin, the one-way fee, carrier and weight limits, notable restrictions, and the official source
AirlineIn the cabinOne-way feeCarrier and weightNotable limitsSource
AmericanYes. Cats and dogs that meet the size, age, and destination rules.Fee$150 per kennelEach way, within and between the US, Canada, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean, when that country allows entry.Soft-sided 18 × 11 × 11 in on all flights. Hard-sided 19 × 13 × 9 in on mainline, 16 × 12 × 8 in on American Eagle.Weight: Not stated for most flights. On a 3-cabin A321T, the pet and carrier together must not exceed 20 lb in First or Business.No carry-on pet to or from Hawaii, to Jamaica, on trans-Atlantic or trans-Pacific trips, or to or from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, or Uruguay. At least 8 weeks old within the US and Puerto Rico. Breed not stated for the cabin.American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab)Checked
DeltaYes, on domestic flights in the contiguous US. Small dogs, cats, and household birds.Fee$150 each wayUSD or CAD for the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands, on tickets issued on or after April 8, 2025. Tickets issued before that date are $95.Delta recommends a soft-sided kennel of 18 × 11 × 11 in. It must fit fully under the seat in front of you. A single required maximum is not stated.Weight: Not statedPets are not allowed in the cabin to Hawaii, or to or from Australia, Barbados, Hong Kong, Iceland, Jamaica, New Zealand, South Africa, the United Kingdom, or the United Arab Emirates. Pets originating in Brazil, Colombia, or the Dominican Republic are not allowed. At least 8 weeks old for domestic travel. Breed not stated.Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab)Checked
UnitedYes, if there is space. Cats and dogs only, in the cabin with you.Fee$150 each wayThe page calls this the pet ticket. It can be added on united.com, not in the United app.Hard-sided up to 9 × 17.5 × 12 in. Soft-sided up to 11 × 18 × 11 in. On a 737 MAX the carrier can be no more than 10 in tall.Weight: No weight limit. The page also says there is no breed limit.At least 2 months old on domestic flights. Not allowed to, from, or through Hawaii, and not to a long list of other places including the United Kingdom, Ireland, Iceland, Australia, and New Zealand. The same page says both “up to 2 pets per person” (with a second seat) and “you can only bring one pet.”United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab)Checked
SouthwestYes, on domestic flights. Small vaccinated cats and dogs. Nothing rides in the cargo hold.Fee$125 per carrierOne way on the US mainland. $35 one way between the Hawaiian islands. Paid at the ticket counter. Refundable if you cancel the reservation.Other carriers up to 18 × 10.5 × 10 in. Southwest’s own carrier is 15 × 10 × 10 in. It must fit under the seat.Weight: Not statedAt least 8 weeks old. One carrier per person, and that carrier may hold two cats or two dogs. The contract of carriage accepts no pets between the continental US and Hawaii, and no pets on international trips. Breed not stated.Southwest pet policy (opens in a new tab)Checked
AlaskaYes. Small dogs, house cats, and, with limits, rabbits and small household birds.Fee$100 per carrierEach way, per kennel or carrier. $35 each way if the whole trip is inside Hawaii. The same page covers Hawaiian Airlines.Soft-sided only, listed as size 50, 17 × 11 × 9.5 in. Hard-sided kennels are not allowed in the cabin. The page does not say what “50” measures.Weight: Not statedDogs, cats, and rabbits must be at least 8 weeks old, weaned, and on solid food for 5 days. The passenger has to be 18, or traveling with someone who is. Cabin pets are not allowed to Europe, the UK, Japan, Seoul, Belize, Guatemala, American Samoa, Tahiti, the Cook Islands, or Sydney. Breed not stated.Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab)Checked
HawaiianYes, under the same pets-in-cabin page as Alaska.Fee$100 per carrierEach way. $35 each way when the whole trip is inside Hawaii. The page says these fees are for Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines.Same rule as Alaska: soft-sided, listed as size 50, 17 × 11 × 9.5 in. Hard-sided kennels are not allowed in the cabin.Weight: Not statedSame age, carrier, and destination limits as the shared Alaska and Hawaiian page. A separate Hawaiian-only fee is not stated.Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab)Checked
JetBlueYes. Small dogs and cats only. No large dogs. Accepted on all domestic flights.Not statedNot statedThe pet page says a pet fee is charged, including a second fee and a second seat for a second pet. Neither that page nor the optional-fees page gives the dollar amount.No larger than 17 × 12.5 × 8.5 in. Soft-sided and hard-sided carriers are both accepted. One pet per carrier.Weight: Not stated. The page says no large dogs are accommodated, and it does not give a pound limit.Not accepted to or from Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Trinidad and Tobago, or the UK and Europe cities listed on the page. Age not stated. An unaccompanied minor cannot travel with a pet. No Mint, exit row, bulkhead, or seat with no under-seat stowage.JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab)Checked
FrontierYes, within the US. Dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, and small household birds. Not in the cargo hold.Fee$149 per petPer direction, and the optional-services page says the charge is non-refundable. The pet FAQ says “a one-way fee” and does not print the number.Hard-sided up to 18 × 14 × 8 in. Soft-sided up to 18 × 14 × 11 in. Soft-sided is recommended. It must fit under the seat.Weight: Not statedAt least 8 weeks old. One pet in the cabin per passenger, and one adult dog or cat per container. Ordinary pets are not allowed on international flights. A dog breed limit is not stated.Frontier pets onboard (opens in a new tab)Checked
SpiritYes, on domestic flights, for an extra charge. Dogs, cats, and in some cities rabbits and small household birds.Not statedNot statedThe contract says there is a service charge for each pet carrier and does not give the amount. The pet help article returned an error when we tried to read it.Maximum 18 × 14 × 9 in. It must fit under the seat, and the pet must be able to stand and turn around.Weight: Not statedCabin pets are not accepted on international flights, except service animals when the destination allows them. One container per guest, up to two similar pets inside it, and no more than six containers on the airplane. Age not stated. Breed not stated. Rabbits and birds are not accepted to or from Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)Checked

What each airline’s page actually says

The table is the scan. These notes are the sentences worth reading before you book a carrier that will not fit, or a ticket to an island that will not take the dog.

$150 per kennel

American

American lets you bring one pet carrier as a carry-on if you pay the fee and the pet stays in the carrier, under the seat in front of you, for the whole flight. You may bring one other item with that carrier: a personal item, or a carry-on bag, not both. The fee is $150 per kennel. It is nonrefundable, and it is charged again if a stop or connection is 4 hours or more.

Soft-sided carriers are recommended at 18 × 11 × 11 inches. Hard-sided carriers are 19 × 13 × 9 inches on mainline flights and 16 × 12 × 8 inches on American Eagle. A general cabin weight limit is not stated. The exception is First or Business on a 3-cabin Airbus A321T, where the pet and carrier together must not exceed 20 pounds, and American says it will weigh them at check-in.

Carry-on pets are not allowed to or from Hawaii, to Jamaica, on trans-Atlantic trips, on trans-Pacific trips, or to or from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, or Uruguay. Within the US and Puerto Rico, the pet must be at least 8 weeks old. A cabin breed ban is not stated. American does not accept a pet that has been sedated or tranquilized. Bulkhead and exit-row seats are not allowed, and some widebody premium cabins have no under-seat space for a carrier.

$150 per kennelOne carrier8 weeks in the USNo cabin pet to Hawaii

Checked · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab)

$150 each way

Delta

On domestic flights within the contiguous US, Delta says small dogs, cats, and household birds can travel in the cabin for a one-way fee collected at check-in. For tickets issued on or after April 8, 2025, that fee is $150 USD or CAD each way for the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands. Tickets issued before April 8, 2025 are $95. International travel is $200 USD, CAD, or EUR, and Brazil is $200 USD on tickets issued on or after that same date.

You may carry one kennel. The pet has to fit inside without touching or sticking out of the sides, and the kennel has to fit fully under the seat in front of you. Delta recommends a soft-sided kennel of 18 × 11 × 11 inches because that size fits most aircraft. A required maximum, and a weight limit, are not stated. Domestic travel requires the pet to be at least 8 weeks old. One pet per kennel is the rule, with two exceptions for young animals: a mother with an unweaned litter between 8 weeks and 6 months, or two pets of the same breed and size in that same age range, charged as one pet if they fit.

Book with Delta Reservations. Space is first come, first served, and the page caps Delta Comfort and Delta Main at 4 pets, Delta First (domestic, including Canada, the US Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and Guam) at 2, and Delta One, international business, and Delta Premium at none. Cabin pets are not allowed to Hawaii. They are also barred to or from Australia, Barbados, Hong Kong, Iceland, Jamaica, New Zealand, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United Arab Emirates, and pets originating in Brazil, Colombia, or the Dominican Republic cannot travel. A breed limit is not stated. The pet stays in the kennel in the airport and on the plane, except in a relief area.

$150 each wayOne kennel8 weeks domesticNot to Hawaii

Checked · Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab)

$150 each way

United

United says a pet has to be a cat or dog and stay in the cabin with you if there is space. Checked pets through PetSafe are no longer offered. The pet ticket is $150 each way. Add it while booking on united.com, or later in My Trips. The app cannot add a pet.

There is no weight limit and no breed limit. The carrier is either hard-sided, up to 9 × 17.5 × 12 inches, or soft-sided, up to 11 × 18 × 11 inches. It has to be ventilated and fit under the seat. On a 737 MAX it can be no more than 10 inches tall. The pet stays in the closed carrier, under the seat, the whole flight. On domestic flights, puppies and kittens must be at least 2 months old.

Read the count carefully, because the page says two things. Under “All flights,” it says you can bring up to 2 pets per person if you buy a second, adjacent seat. Some aircraft allow only one pet per person, including the A319, A320, A321neo, 737-800, 737-8, 737-900, and 737-9. Later, under seating, it says you can only bring one pet. Pets are not allowed to, from, or through Hawaii, and the banned list also includes Australia, Brazil, Cuba, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, New Zealand, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and others named on the page. Exit rows, United Premium Plus, and the front row of each cabin are not allowed. Therapy and emotional support cats and dogs fly as pets, in a carrier.

$150 each wayNo weight limitNo breed limitNot through Hawaii

Checked · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab)

$125 per carrier

Southwest

Southwest welcomes small, vaccinated domestic cats and dogs in a carrier in the cabin on domestic flights. Pets must be at least 8 weeks old. No pets go in the cargo compartment, and an unaccompanied minor cannot travel with a pet. The pet fare is on the optional travel charges page: $125 per pet carrier one way on the US mainland, and $35 per pet carrier one way between the Hawaiian islands. Pay it at the ticket counter with a credit card. If you cancel the reservation, the pet fare is refundable.

Each customer may bring one carrier, and that carrier may hold two small cats or two small dogs. Other carriers may be up to 18 inches long, 10.5 inches wide, and 10 inches high. Southwest’s own carrier is 15 × 10 × 10 inches. A weight limit is not stated, and a breed limit is not stated. The carrier has to fit under the seat, and the animal, including head and tail, stays inside through the gate, boarding, and the flight.

The pet policy page says some destination rules apply and does not list them. The contract of carriage does. It accepts no pets on itineraries between the continental United States and Hawaii, and no pets on international itineraries. It also lets Southwest limit a flight to six pet carriers, first come, first served. Exit-row seats, and seats with nothing to stow under, are not allowed. Call to reserve. Space is limited.

$100 per carrier

Alaska

Alaska’s pets-in-cabin page, shared with Hawaiian Airlines, says small pets are accepted in the passenger cabin for $100 each way per kennel or carrier, or $35 if the travel is wholly within Hawaii. Space is limited. Reserve before the day of travel. Trained service animals travel free. The fee note says the price is for travel on Alaska or Hawaiian only.

Approved cabin animals are small dogs, house cats, domesticated rabbits, and small household birds. Rabbits cannot travel to Maui, Lihue, or Kona from the continental US, and the page says rabbits going to Hawaii may go only to Honolulu. Small household birds are not allowed to Hawaii, except on neighbor-island flights with the proper documents. Dogs, cats, and rabbits must be at least eight weeks old, fully weaned, and used to solid food for at least five days. A weight limit is not stated, and a breed limit is not stated.

The carrier table lists one row: soft-sided, carrier size 50, 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches, length by width by height. Hard-sided kennels are not allowed in the cabin. The page does not say what the “50” refers to. The person traveling with the pet must be at least 18, unless an adult passenger is with them. You may bring up to two carriers only if you buy a second ticket for an adjacent seat. Two pets of the same species and similar size may share one carrier. Exit rows and bulkhead rows are not allowed. Cabin pets are not allowed to Europe (all locations), London, Japan (all locations), Seoul, Belize City, Guatemala City, Pago Pago, Papeete, Rarotonga, or Sydney. Sedation is not advised.

$100 each way$35 inside HawaiiSoft-sided only8 weeks old

Checked · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab)

$100 per carrier

Hawaiian

Hawaiian does not publish a separate cabin-pet fee on its own page. The pets-in-cabin policy is titled for Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines, and the fee footnote says the amounts are for travel on either airline. That is $100 each way per kennel or carrier, and $35 each way when the trip stays wholly inside Hawaii.

The animal list, the 8-week age rule for dogs, cats, and rabbits, the soft-sided carrier size, and the places that do not take a cabin pet are the same sentences as on the Alaska row. A weight limit is not stated. A breed limit is not stated. If the itinerary also uses another airline, that airline’s fee may be charged instead, and the page says to check with them.

Same page as Alaska$100 each way$35 inside Hawaii

Checked · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab)

Fee not stated

JetBlue

JetBlue accepts small dogs and cats in the cabin, in a carrier that fits under the seat in front of you. It says no large dogs are accommodated. A maximum of two pets per traveler is allowed, each in its own carrier, and the second pet needs a second seat and another pet fee. One pet per carrier. The pet page never states the dollar fee. The optional services and fees page does not list a pet fee either. The only pet price on the pet page is a carrier sold at the JFK Terminal 5 counter for $55, which is the price of the bag, not the charge to fly.

Carriers cannot exceed 17 inches long, 12.5 inches wide, and 8.5 inches high. Soft-sided and hard-sided are both accepted, with a leak-proof bottom and ventilation. The pet must be able to stand up and move around. A weight limit is not stated, and an age minimum is not stated. The pet and carrier count as one personal item in one section of the page and as the carry-on item in another. The pet stays zipped in the carrier at the airport and on the plane. You may hold the carrier on your lap during the flight. For taxi, takeoff, and landing it goes under the seat, unless you bought an extra seat, in which case it still goes under the seat for those phases and may sit on the empty seat during the flight.

Pets are accepted on all domestic flights. They are not accepted to or from Colombia (Barranquilla, Cali, Cartagena, Medellín), the Dominican Republic (Puerto Plata, Punta Cana, Santo Domingo, Santiago), Ecuador (Guayaquil), Guatemala City, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras (San Pedro Sula), Trinidad and Tobago, or the UK and Europe cities the page names: Amsterdam, Barcelona, Paris, Dublin, Edinburgh, London Gatwick, London Heathrow, Madrid, and Milan. Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands require vaccination documents. An unaccompanied minor cannot travel with a pet. You cannot sit in an exit row, a bulkhead, a Mint seat, or any seat that cannot stow a bag underneath.

Fee not stated17 × 12.5 × 8.5 inSmall dogs and catsNo large dogs

Checked · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue optional services and fees (opens in a new tab)

$149 per pet

Frontier

Frontier’s pet FAQ says yes: domesticated dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, and small household birds can travel on flights within the US, in the cabin, for a one-way fee. The FAQ does not print the amount. The optional-services page does: Pet Charge, $149 per pet, per direction, non-refundable. Pets are not carried in the cargo hold, and checked pets are not allowed.

The carrier must let the pet stand, turn around, and lie down, and it must fit under the seat in front of you. Hard-sided maximum is 18 × 14 × 8 inches. Soft-sided maximum is 18 × 14 × 11 inches. A weight limit is not stated. The pet must be at least 8 weeks old. Each passenger may travel with one pet in the cabin, and only one adult dog or cat per container. The pet stays in the container the whole time.

Only service dogs are allowed on international flights, and they must meet CDC requirements. A customer with a trained service dog may also bring one cabin pet if both sets of rules are met. A breed limit for dogs is not stated. The not-allowed list names large birds such as parrots and macaws, rodents including mice, rats, and squirrels, plus beavers, ferrets, reptiles, amphibians, spiders, and insects. Add the pet during booking under Cabin Pet, or later in Manage Trip.

$149 per direction8 weeks oldOne pet per passengerUS flights

Checked · Frontier pets onboard (opens in a new tab) · Frontier optional services (opens in a new tab)

Fee not stated

Spirit

Spirit’s pet help article did not load. The request returned an error, so this row does not use it. What follows is from the contract of carriage, section 6. On domestic flights, including between the US and its territories, Spirit accepts domesticated dogs, cats, and in some cities rabbits and small household birds, for an extra charge. The contract says there is a service charge for each pet carrier. It does not state the dollar amount, so the fee is not stated.

The container has to fit under the seat. The maximum size is 18 × 14 × 9 inches, and the pet must be able to stand and turn around. One container per guest. Up to two similar pets, such as two dogs or two cats, may share it if they fit, and they may not come out during the flight. A flight may carry six pet containers. A weight limit is not stated. An age minimum is not stated in the contract. A breed limit is not stated.

Cabin pets are not accepted on international flights, except a service animal when the destination permits it and the guest meets the service-animal rules. Emotional support animals and service animals in training are accepted as cabin pets, for an extra charge, and they have to meet the pet rules. Rabbits and birds are not accepted to or from Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. An unaccompanied minor cannot travel with a pet. The carrier counts toward the carry-on allowance.

Fee not stated18 × 14 × 9 inDomestic flightsHelp page did not load

Checked · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)

The Pawsport

A weekly note of pet-friendly trips: flights, parks, and stays that are glad you brought the dog.

Before you book the seat

Reserve the dog, not just the person. Delta takes cabin pets first come, first served and asks you to call with the kennel’s length, width, and height. Alaska says the reservation has to be made before the day of travel. Southwest recommends calling ahead, and its contract lets the airline cap a flight at six pet carriers. United only adds the pet when there is space, and the United app cannot do it.

Measure the carrier against that airline’s inches. A bag that meets Southwest’s 10-inch height can still be too tall for JetBlue’s 8.5-inch limit, and a hard-sided kennel is not accepted in the cabin on Alaska or Hawaiian. On a 737 MAX, United cuts the height to 10 inches. Southwest, JetBlue, Frontier, and Spirit say the dog has to be able to stand and move or turn around inside the carrier. American, Delta, United, Southwest, and JetBlue say the animal stays in the carrier in the gate area and on the plane. Frontier says the pet stays in the container at all times. Spirit’s contract says the pet may not be removed from the container during transit.

Hawaii is the trip that breaks the pattern. A cabin dog is not allowed to or from Hawaii on American, is not allowed to Hawaii on Delta, and is not allowed to, from, or through Hawaii on United. Southwest’s contract accepts no pets between the continental United States and Hawaii. Alaska and Hawaiian do take a cabin pet, and a trip that stays inside Hawaii is the $35 fee. Read the island rules on their page before you assume every animal can land in Maui.

American will not take a sedated or tranquilized pet. Alaska says sedation is not advised because the effects at altitude are unpredictable, and that the decision belongs to your veterinarian. Neither page is a reason to skip a conversation with your own vet. They are a reason not to assume a calm-down pill is part of the airline’s plan.

A service dog is not a cabin pet

The Department of Transportation’s final rule on traveling by air with service animals defines a service animal as a dog, regardless of breed or type, that is individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability. It says species other than dogs, emotional support animals, comfort animals, companionship animals, and service animals in training are not service animals. The rule allows airlines to recognize emotional support animals as pets rather than service animals. The Department’s consumer web pages on service animals and on flying with a pet did not load when we tried to read them, so this note is taken from the final-rule PDF on transportation.gov.

On the airline pages we could read, American lists service animals at no charge, and Alaska and Hawaiian say trained service animals travel free. United says therapy and emotional support cats and dogs must fly as pets, in a carrier, under the pet rules. Spirit’s contract accepts emotional support animals and service animals in training as cabin pets, for an extra charge. A service dog still has its own forms and its own rules. This guide is about the pet fee.

Checked · DOT final rule, Traveling by Air with Service Animals (opens in a new tab) · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)

Your questions, answered

The short yesCan I bring my dog in the cabin on a US airline?

Yes, if the dog is small enough for that airline’s carrier and the route allows a pet. American, Delta, United, Southwest, Alaska, Hawaiian, JetBlue, Frontier, and Spirit all allow a small dog in the cabin on at least some US flights. The dog stays in a carrier under the seat. It is not a free bag. Hawaiian uses the same cabin page as Alaska.

Checked · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Southwest pet policy (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Frontier pets onboard (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)

The feeWhat does it cost to fly a dog in the cabin?

One way, the published cabin fee is $150 per kennel on American, $150 on Delta for tickets issued on or after April 8, 2025 within the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands, and $150 on United. Southwest charges $125 per carrier on the US mainland and $35 between the Hawaiian islands. Alaska and Hawaiian charge $100 per carrier, or $35 when the whole trip is inside Hawaii. Frontier charges $149 per pet, per direction. JetBlue and Spirit do not state a dollar amount on the pages we could read.

Checked · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Southwest optional travel charges (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · Frontier optional services (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue optional services and fees (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)

The carrierHow big can the carrier be?

It depends on the airline, and the carrier has to fit under the seat. American recommends a soft-sided carrier of 18 × 11 × 11 inches. Delta recommends the same size and does not state a single required maximum. United allows a hard-sided carrier up to 9 × 17.5 × 12 inches or a soft-sided carrier up to 11 × 18 × 11 inches. Southwest allows other carriers up to 18 × 10.5 × 10 inches. Alaska and Hawaiian list a soft-sided carrier of 17 × 11 × 9.5 inches and do not allow a hard-sided kennel in the cabin. JetBlue’s maximum is 17 × 12.5 × 8.5 inches. Frontier allows 18 × 14 × 8 inches hard-sided or 18 × 14 × 11 inches soft-sided. Spirit’s maximum is 18 × 14 × 9 inches.

Checked · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Southwest pet carrier rules (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Frontier pets onboard (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab)

HawaiiCan my dog fly in the cabin to Hawaii?

Often, no. American does not allow a carry-on pet to or from Hawaii. Delta does not allow cabin pets on flights to Hawaii. United does not allow pets to, from, or through Hawaii. Southwest’s contract of carriage accepts no pets between the continental United States and Hawaii, while the fee chart still lists $35 between the Hawaiian islands. Alaska and Hawaiian do allow a cabin pet on the shared policy, including travel wholly inside Hawaii for $35, with extra rules for which animals may go to which island. JetBlue’s banned-destination list does not name Hawaii.

Checked · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Delta pet travel overview (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Southwest contract of carriage (opens in a new tab) · Southwest optional travel charges (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab)

Service dogsDo I pay a pet fee for a service dog or an emotional support dog?

A trained service dog is not the cabin pet described on this page. DOT’s final rule defines a service animal as a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability, and it says emotional support animals are not service animals. Airlines may treat an emotional support animal as a pet. American lists service animals at no charge. Alaska and Hawaiian say trained service animals travel free. United says therapy and emotional support cats and dogs must fly as pets. Spirit’s contract accepts emotional support animals as cabin pets for an extra charge. JetBlue’s dollar fee for a pet is not stated, and its service-animal rules are on a different page.

Checked · DOT final rule, Traveling by Air with Service Animals (opens in a new tab) · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab) · Alaska and Hawaiian pets in cabin (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab)

Missing numbersWhich airlines do not state a cabin pet fee?

JetBlue and Spirit. JetBlue’s traveling-with-pets page says a pet fee is charged and never gives the amount, and the optional-fees page does not list one. Spirit’s contract of carriage says there is a service charge for each pet carrier and does not give the amount. Spirit’s pet help article returned an error, so we did not fill the gap from anywhere else. A weight limit is also not stated for American (except the 20-pound combined cap in First or Business on a 3-cabin A321T), Delta, Southwest, Alaska, Hawaiian, JetBlue, Frontier, or Spirit. United is the airline that says there is no weight limit.

Checked · JetBlue traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · JetBlue optional services and fees (opens in a new tab) · Spirit contract of carriage (opens in a new tab) · United traveling with pets (opens in a new tab) · American Airlines pets page (opens in a new tab)