The short version

Yes. Amtrak’s pet page allows a dog or cat in a carrier on most trains, in Coach and Acela Business class, when the pet and carrier together weigh no more than 20 pounds and the trip, including transfers, is no longer than seven hours. The terms and conditions page is stricter and says Coach only, and neither page states the dollar fee: Amtrak says it varies by route and appears when you reserve. Brightline charges $10 within and between Miami, Aventura, Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, and West Palm Beach, and $45 between Orlando and all other destinations.

Policies change. The fee, the carrier size, and which trains take a dog can move after this page was checked. Confirm the pet on the reservation before you pay for the ticket. This page covers Amtrak, Amtrak Cascades, and Brightline, the operators whose official pet pages we could read on .

Train pet rules compared

Every rule below is copied from that operator’s own page on . “Not stated” means the page we read does not say. We do not fill a blank from memory or from a travel blog.

FeeNot stated
Dog rules on 3 US train operators: whether a dog may ride, the fee, carrier and weight limits, trip and route limits, and the official source
OperatorDog on the trainPet feeCarrier and weightTrip and route limitsSource
AmtrakYes, on most trains. Dogs and cats only, in a carrier.Not statedNot statedA fee is charged for each travel segment. The amount varies by route and is shown in the price summary when you reserve.Hard or soft sided, leak-proof and ventilated, up to 19 × 14 × 10.5 in. It counts as one carry-on.Weight: 20 lb combined, pet and carrier.Seven hours, including transfers. Coach and Acela Business on the pet page; Coach only on the terms page. Not on Auto Train, Gold Runner, or Amtrak Connection services.Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab)Checked
Amtrak CascadesYes, in Coach car 4. Dogs and cats only.Fee$29 per reservationThe Cascades rider guide also lists $58 round trip. Amtrak.com does not print this dollar amount.Hard or soft sided, leak-proof and ventilated, up to 19 × 14 × 10.5 in. On the floor in front of the next seat.Weight: 20 lb combined, pet and carrier.Seven hours. Coach only, car 4. No more than five pets reserved per train. Not into Canada. Not on Thruway or POINT buses.Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab)Checked
BrightlineYes. Dogs and cats only, in a carrier past security and on the train.Fee$10 or $45$10 within and between Miami, Aventura, Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, and West Palm Beach. $45 between Orlando and all other destinations. Same on SMART Saver, SMART, and PREMIUM.Closed hard or soft sided, leak-proof, no larger than 17 × 10 × 10 in, under the seat or on your lap.Weight: Not statedOne pet per passenger age 13 or older. Add the pet at least 10 minutes before departure. A trip-length limit is not stated.Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)Checked

What each operator’s page actually says

The table is the scan. These notes are the sentences worth reading before you buy a ticket the dog cannot ride, or a carrier that will not fit under the seat.

Fee not stated

Amtrak

Amtrak’s pet page says only dogs and cats may travel as pets, and that you bring the carrier. Reservations are limited to one pet per customer. The pet must be at least eight weeks old, and it must be odorless, harmless, not disruptive, and in no need of attention during the trip. You read and sign a Pet Release and Indemnification Agreement for each travel segment. Signing it is how you certify that vaccinations are up to date. Amtrak says it does not accept liability for the pet’s health. It does not ship pets, and it does not take them as checked baggage. The pet travels with a person.

The carrier may be hard or soft sided. It must be leak-proof and well ventilated, and no larger than 19 inches long by 14 inches wide by 10.5 inches high. The pet and the carrier together must weigh no more than 20 pounds. The pet must be able to sit, lie down, and stay entirely inside without touching the sides. One pet per carrier. On the train, the carrier goes under your seat, not under the seat in front of you. The same page makes one exception: on Amtrak Cascades, you may put the carrier on the floor in front of the seat next to you. The carrier counts as one piece of carry-on baggage. It stays closed in the station and on the train, and you stay with it. Pets are not allowed in any Amtrak station lounge or First Class waiting area.

The two Amtrak pages do not describe the same seats. The pet page permits pets in Coach class and Acela Business class. It bars Acela First class seating, First Class private rooms, non-Acela Business class, food service cars, and other accommodations. On Keystone and Pennsylvanian trains, it also bars the Quiet Car. The terms and conditions page says ticketed dogs and cats are welcome in Coach class only, and that they may not travel in food service cars, Business class, First class, or bedroom accommodations. That terms page also says pet reservations are required, a fee applies, and space is first come, first served. The pet page says the fee is assessed for each travel segment, varies by route, and appears in the price summary at reservation. A dollar amount is not stated on either page.

The pet page names the trips that are closed. Travel with pets in Canada is not available on the Adirondack, the Maple Leaf, or Amtrak Cascades. Pets are not available on the Auto Train, the Gold Runner, or Amtrak Connection services. The terms page says travel with pets is not available on Thruway Connecting Services and on certain Amtrak trains, and not on those same three trains in Canada. A full list of trains that do accept a pet is not stated. The pet page does name the routes that put pets in one specific Coach car: Amtrak Cascades, Carl Sandburg, Illinois Zephyr, Illini, Lincoln Service, Saluki, Pere Marquette, Wolverine, Blue Water, Hiawatha, and Missouri River Runner. On other pet-friendly routes, it says you and the pet may ride in any Coach car. Whether the US-only portion of the Adirondack or the Maple Leaf accepts a pet is not stated. A breed limit is not stated.

20 lb with carrier7-hour capOne pet per customerDollar fee not stated

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak refund and cancellation policy (opens in a new tab)

$29 per reservation

Amtrak Cascades

The Amtrak Cascades rider guide is the page that prints a dollar fee. It says cats and dogs are the only pets accepted, one pet and one carrier per passenger, with a combined weight of 20 pounds. The carrier maximum is 19 inches long by 14 inches wide by 10.5 inches high. It may be hard or soft sided, and it must be leak-proof and well ventilated. The pet must be able to sit and lie down without touching the sides. The pet must be at least eight weeks old. The pet fare on that page is $29 per reservation, and $58 round trip. The Amtrak.com pet page does not print those amounts. It says fees vary by route and show up when you reserve.

On Cascades, pets are permitted only in Coach cars, and only in Coach car number 4. The carrier stays on the floor in front of the seat next to you. It is not allowed on a seat. The guide says the spot in front of the aisle seat, rather than the window seat, keeps the carrier away from the heater, which could get too hot. No more than five pets are reserved on a train. Service animals do not count toward that limit. Travel on the train is limited to seven hours, and a passenger making a connection must finish within seven hours of leaving the first station. Pets are not allowed into Canada. The guide gives quarantine restrictions as the reason. Pets are not permitted on Thruway or POINT bus service, and a pet reservation cannot be combined with a multi-ride, monthly, or Rail Plus ticket. An unaccompanied minor cannot travel with a pet.

The Cascades guide says a pet reservation can only be made with an agent at 1-800-USA-RAIL or at a staffed station, first come, first served. At a staffed station, check in at the ticket office no later than 30 minutes before departure. Amtrak’s main pet page says 45 minutes at staffed stations, so the two pages do not match. At an unstaffed Cascades station, the conductor confirms eligibility and has you sign the release on the train. A waiver is required for each leg. The guide says there is not time for a potty break at stops, and asks you to take the pet out before departure. The pet stays inside the carrier in the station and on the train, and you stay with the pet. Amtrak may refuse or remove a pet that is disruptive or that needs attention. It does not accept liability for the pet’s health. If service is disrupted, it will try to find a pet-friendly hotel and does not guarantee one.

$29 per reservationCoach car 4Five pets per trainNot into Canada

Checked · Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab)

$10 or $45

Brightline

Brightline’s terms of service, which say they were updated October 2, 2026, allow dogs and cats only. An adult, age 13 or older, may bring one pet. The pet rides in a closed, leak-proof carrier, hard or soft sided, no larger than 17 × 10 × 10 inches, under the seat or on your lap. A weight limit is not stated. A breed limit is not stated. A maximum trip length is not stated. The pet must be at least eight weeks old, odorless, harmless, not disruptive, and in no need of attention during travel. Brightline does not allow pets as checked baggage. The pet travels with the passenger, and that passenger is responsible for the pet.

The fee table in those terms lists $10 on SMART Saver, SMART, and PREMIUM for travel within and between Miami, Aventura, Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, and West Palm Beach. It lists $45 on the same three fare types for travel between Orlando and all other destinations. Add the dog or cat in the reservation’s passenger details at least 10 minutes before departure. The terms say failure to do that may mean the pet is refused. In the lobby and outside the station, the pet is on a leash. Past security, in lounge areas, and on the train, the pet stays in the carrier. A pet relief area is outside the West Palm Beach and Fort Lauderdale stations. Whether the other stations have one is not stated.

You may bring the carrier and one personal item. A carry-on bag in addition to the carrier and that personal item is not allowed. Brightline says it does not rent carriers. A limited quantity may be for sale, and additional fees apply. The sale price is not stated. Brightline may refuse or remove a disruptive or aggressive pet. On a cancellation, the pet fee is treated as an ancillary fee. On Smart Saver, the ticket is forfeited and the pet fee is returned as a travel credit for the full amount paid. On SMART Select and PREMIUM Select, cancel at least five minutes before departure and the pet fee comes back as a travel credit for the full amount. On SMART Flex and PREMIUM Flex, the same five-minute window returns the pet fee to the original form of payment.

$10 in South Florida$45 via Orlando17 × 10 × 10 inOne pet, age 13+

Checked · Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)

The Pawsport

A weekly note of pet-friendly trips: trains, flights, parks, and stays that are glad you brought the dog.

Before you book the seat

Reserve the dog, not just the person. On Amtrak, a reservation is limited to one pet per customer, and the fee is charged for each travel segment. An unreserved train still needs a pet reservation, and that reservation is valid only for the date on the ticket. Pets cannot be booked with a multi-ride ticket, with Amtrak Connection service, or with an unaccompanied minor. You sign a Pet Release and Indemnification Agreement for each segment. The form is at the end of the booking, and again in My Trip on Amtrak.com or in the Amtrak app. At a staffed station, check in at the ticket office 45 minutes before departure. At an unstaffed station, the conductor checks the paperwork on the train.

On Amtrak Cascades, the rider guide is stricter about how you book. It says a pet reservation can only be made with an agent at 1-800-USA-RAIL or at a staffed station, and that check-in at a staffed station is no later than 30 minutes before departure. It also caps the train at five pet reservations. If you are riding Cascades, use that guide alongside the Amtrak.com page, because the clock and the booking channel are not the same sentence on both.

Measure the carrier against the inches on the page you are riding. Amtrak’s maximum is 19 × 14 × 10.5 inches, and the pet has to sit and lie down inside without touching the sides. The 20-pound cap includes the carrier. On a typical Amtrak train the carrier goes under your own seat. On Cascades it goes on the floor in front of the next seat, and the guide asks you to keep it off the heater by the window. Brightline’s maximum is smaller, 17 × 10 × 10 inches, and the carrier may go under the seat or on your lap. On Brightline the carrier plus one personal item is the allowance. An extra carry-on bag is not allowed. A carrier that meets Amtrak’s size can still be too big for Brightline.

Keep the trip inside seven hours if you are on Amtrak, and count the time you spend changing trains. The pet page says the seven hours include transfer time on a multi-segment trip. The Cascades guide says a connection has to be finished within seven hours of leaving the first station, and that there is not time for a potty break at stops. The Amtrak pet page does not state a rule for taking a pet out of the carrier at a station. It says the carrier stays closed in the station and on the train. The Auto Train, the Gold Runner, and Amtrak Connection services are named as closed to pets. First Class private rooms are closed on the pet page, and bedroom accommodations are closed on the terms page.

On Brightline, add the dog or cat in the passenger details at least 10 minutes before departure. The terms say a late add can be refused. Leash the pet in the lobby and outside. Keep it in the carrier once you are past security. Relief areas are named outside West Palm Beach and Fort Lauderdale. If you cancel, the pet fee is an ancillary fee. On Smart Saver it comes back as a travel credit for the amount you paid, and the ticket itself is forfeited. On SMART Select and PREMIUM Select, cancel at least five minutes before departure and the pet fee comes back as a travel credit for the full amount. On SMART Flex and PREMIUM Flex, that same five-minute window returns the pet fee to the original form of payment. On Amtrak, the refund page says a pet add-on follows the cancellation policy of the fare you bought. A pet on a Value fare follows that fare’s rule: 30 percent of the total fare is forfeited if you cancel before departure.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak refund and cancellation policy (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab) · Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)

A service animal is not the pet in the carrier

Amtrak’s pet page says service animals are not considered pets, and that they are welcome on all Amtrak services. That includes the Auto Train, the Gold Runner, and the other services the pet page closes to pets. The service-animal page says a service animal is trained to do work or perform tasks directly related to a person’s disability, and that it may be in any area where passengers are allowed. Staff may ask what task the animal performs. An emotional support animal, a comfort animal, and an animal in training are not service animals on that page. Amtrak says an emotional support animal is not a service animal under DOT regulations and has to follow the pet rules. The terms page puts comfort animals, emotional support animals, search-and-rescue dogs that are not trained to assist a particular passenger, and police dogs other than Amtrak Police Department dogs, into the pet rules.

A fee for an Amtrak service animal is not stated. The species the service-animal page accepts is not stated. The animal stays under the passenger’s seat or at the passenger’s feet. It may not sit in the aisle, on a seat, or on a bed. Space for more than one service animal is limited. The animal stays on a leash, harness, or other tether unless the disability or the task makes that impossible, and then it still has to be under the handler’s control. It may not be left alone. It has to be housebroken. Litter boxes, pee pads, diapers, and non-waterproof carriers meant for relief on board are not permitted. If the schedule allows, you may walk the animal at a station stop, stay near the train, and re-board when the conductor says it is leaving. Tell the conductor when you board if you plan to do that. On the Auto Train, the service-animal page says the only stop is the service stop in Florence, South Carolina, and that it may be used as a relief stop. Tell the conductor. Employees do not care for the animal. For a train that crosses the Canadian border, the page points to Canadian requirements and U.S. requirements. The checklist under those headings did not come through in the copy we read, so the document list is not stated here.

Brightline accepts a service animal accompanying a person with a disability at no charge. It asks for advance notice, and the animal has to be added to the reservation. The animal may sit under the seat, at the passenger’s feet, or on the passenger’s lap. It may not sit in the aisle or in an empty seat, and it may not block an evacuation path. Comfort animals and search-and-rescue dogs that are not trained to assist a particular passenger are pets on Brightline, and they have to fit the carry-on pet rules. A breed limit for a Brightline service animal is not stated.

Checked · Amtrak service animals (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab) · Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)

Your questions, answered

The short answerCan I take my dog on Amtrak?

Yes, if the dog fits the carrier and the trip is short enough. Amtrak’s pet page says dogs and cats may travel on most trains, in a carrier, in Coach class and Acela Business class. The pet and carrier together must weigh no more than 20 pounds, and a pet reservation is limited to seven hours, including transfer time. The terms and conditions page says ticketed dogs and cats are welcome in Coach class only. A complete list of every train that accepts a pet is not stated.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab)

The feeWhat is the Amtrak pet fee?

Amtrak’s pet page does not state a dollar amount. It says pet fees vary by route and are shown in the price summary when you reserve, and that the fee is assessed for each travel segment. The Amtrak Cascades rider guide states a pet fare of $29 per reservation, and $58 round trip, for that service. Whether the fee can be paid with Amtrak Guest Rewards points is not stated. The refund page says add-ons such as pets follow the cancellation policy of the fare you bought.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak refund and cancellation policy (opens in a new tab)

The carrierHow big can my dog and carrier be on Amtrak?

The pet and carrier together must weigh no more than 20 pounds. The carrier may be hard or soft sided, must be leak-proof and well ventilated, and must be no larger than 19 inches long by 14 inches wide by 10.5 inches high. The pet must be able to sit, lie down, and stay entirely inside without touching the sides. One pet per carrier. The carrier counts as one piece of carry-on baggage. On board it goes under your seat, not under the seat in front of you, except on Amtrak Cascades, where the pet page allows the floor in front of the next seat. A breed limit is not stated.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab)

Trip lengthHow long a train trip can my dog take on Amtrak?

Amtrak’s pet page says a pet reservation is limited to seven hours of total travel time, including transfer time between trains when the trip has more than one segment. The top of that page says pets are allowed only on trips up to 7 hours on most routes, and that some restrictions apply. The Cascades rider guide says time on the train is limited to seven hours, and that a connection must be finished within seven hours of leaving the first station.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab)

RoutesWhich Amtrak trains do not allow pets?

Amtrak’s pet page says travel with pets in Canada is not available on the Adirondack, the Maple Leaf, or Amtrak Cascades, and that pets are not available on the Auto Train, the Gold Runner, or Amtrak Connection services. The terms page says pets are not available on Thruway Connecting Services or on certain Amtrak trains, and not on the Adirondack, Maple Leaf, or Amtrak Cascades in Canada. Whether a pet may ride the US-only portion of the Adirondack or the Maple Leaf is not stated. The pet page names routes that use one Coach car for pets: Amtrak Cascades, Carl Sandburg, Illinois Zephyr, Illini, Lincoln Service, Saluki, Pere Marquette, Wolverine, Blue Water, Hiawatha, and Missouri River Runner. On other pet-friendly routes, any Coach car. A full list of those other routes is not stated.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab)

Class of serviceCan my dog ride in business class or a private room?

Amtrak’s pet page says pets are permitted in Coach class and Acela Business class. It says they are not allowed in Acela First class seating, First Class private rooms, non-Acela Business class, food service cars, or other accommodations. On Keystone and Pennsylvanian trains, pets are not allowed in the Quiet Car, and they are not allowed in station lounges or First Class waiting areas. The terms and conditions page says Coach class only, and bars food service cars, Business class, First class, and bedroom accommodations. The Cascades rider guide says Coach cars only, in Coach car number 4.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak Cascades pets guide (opens in a new tab)

Service dogsDo I pay a pet fee for a service dog on Amtrak?

A fee for a service animal is not stated. Amtrak’s pet page says service animals are not considered pets and are welcome on all Amtrak services, including services that do not take pets. The service-animal page says a service animal is trained to do work or perform tasks directly related to a person’s disability, and may be in any area passengers may use. It says an emotional support animal is not a service animal under DOT regulations and follows the pet rules. The species Amtrak accepts as a service animal is not stated on that page. Brightline’s terms say a service animal accompanying a person with a disability is accepted at no charge.

Checked · Amtrak pets page (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak service animals (opens in a new tab) · Amtrak terms and conditions (opens in a new tab) · Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)

FloridaCan I take my dog on Brightline?

Yes. Brightline’s terms say dogs and cats are the only pets allowed, one per passenger age 13 or older, in a closed leak-proof carrier no larger than 17 × 10 × 10 inches, under the seat or on your lap. The fee is $10 within and between Miami, Aventura, Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, and West Palm Beach, and $45 between Orlando and all other destinations, on SMART Saver, SMART, and PREMIUM. Add the pet to the reservation at least 10 minutes before departure. A weight limit is not stated. A trip-length limit is not stated. A breed limit is not stated.

Checked · Brightline terms of service (opens in a new tab)